this post was submitted on 18 Mar 2025
11 points (100.0% liked)

Spoilers

688 readers
87 users here now

MTG Spoilers!

All card and set spoilers, including official spoilers and unofficial leaks.

Please try to preface spoiler posts with the set code in brackets, like this:

[CMM] Pearl Medallion

Please try to keep all spoilers and spoiler discussion here instead of the other communities to help subscriptions and during spoiler season.


founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] [email protected] 2 points 1 week ago (1 children)

Creatures referring to themselves almost always do so by name. Usually when they say "this creature", it's because the ability was added through some other means. For example, a token might be created with an ability that says "this creature", or an equipment might grant an ability that does that.

In all cases when a card refers to itself by name, it means "this object" though so there's no difference between the two. The only time the name matters is when the card specifically refers to the name of a card, like in Approach of the Second Sun.

[–] [email protected] 4 points 1 week ago (1 children)

I don’t think this is strictly true anymore with the new Oracle language. I think the Legendary answer is correct. Skimming a Scryfall search I don’t see any Legendary’s matching “Whenever this creature enters or attacks”.

https://scryfall.com/search?q=o%3A%22whenever+this+creature+enters+or+attacks%22&unique=cards&as=grid&order=name

[–] [email protected] 3 points 1 week ago

Interesting. I didn't notice this was all errata'd. I think the legendary answer makes sense as well then.