this post was submitted on 26 May 2025
8 points (100.0% liked)
MTG
2169 readers
14 users here now
Magic: the Gathering discussion
General discussion, questions, and media related to Magic: the Gathering that doesn't fit within a more specific community. Our equivalent of /r/magicTCG!
Type [[Card name]]
in your posts and comments and CardBot will reply with a link to the card! More info here.
founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
I'm also not a judge, but the way I would expect it to work is that each time a source would deal damage, regardless of the amount of damage, that's a separate token-generating event.
Say an opponent attacks you with Savai Sabertooth and Fencing Ace. You cast Inkshield before they deal damage. Then you go to the first-strike damage step. Fencing Ace would deal one damage, instead you make one Inkling and one food. Next you go to the normal damage step. Fencing Ace gets another damage prevented; you get one more Inkling and one more food from that. Sabertooth would deal three damage, so you get three Inklings and one food from that. Your final count is five Inklings and three food.
I'm not sure about this ruling because as you note, the wording of Inkshield is unusual. This is the most relevant rule I could find:
I think that supports my theory that three damage from Savai Sabertooth is one "damage event" and therefore one token-producing trigger. But a judge might say otherwise.
I tried looking for clarity about what a "damage event" is and how it works. Rule 120.4 is the relevant one. But it didn't elucidate this question for me.
@Evu @luxyr42 I am a judge and I like this explaination